Create a Shared View
The Add Item Module contains all of the create functionality for every Object in the portal. Always start by finding the object you wish to add from the list of items in the Add Item Module (+ Sign). To create a Shared View, select Add Shared View from the list.
Add Shared View
Users will be asked to provide the following information when creating a Shared View.
- Name: the name to be assigned to the Shared View, will be displayed in the green bar at the bottom of the interface when viewing the shared view
- Description: optional, will not be displayed in the interface
Access Controls Section
- Status: enabled/disabled toggles the Shared View’s viewability; Disabled Shared Views will not appear, even if the user follows the link
- Availability: public/private toggles the password protection settings for the Shared View. When Public, anyone with the link can view the Shared View. When Private, the Shared View will be password protected.
- Expiration Date: users can set an expiration date beyond which the Shared View will no longer display when someone views the link. This allows users to provide temporary access to data without having to manually rescind access when the time period has ended.
- Date Range of Data: determines the data that Shared View users will have access to, but does not determine the data that will be shown. Data that will be displayed by default can be set in another section (see default map mode and default history view below). Selecting All-time means the Shared View users will have the option to pull data from any point in the selected assets’ histories. Custom data ranges can be selected as well.
- Two-Way Messaging: enabled/disabled toggles whether or not users of the Shared View will have the ability to interact with devices via messaging functionality
As part of creating a Shared View, users will be prompted to set preferences and add Assets, Groups, Geofences, Places, and Drivers to them. Those chosen will be the only ones viewers will be able to see and interact with in the Shared View, limiting access by selection. In setting this up, users will move through 6 tabs, prompted to make the following choices.
- Language: sets the viewport language for the Shared View, with Browser Default as the base option
- Speed Display: units of measure for speed
- Fuel Units: units of measure for fuel efficiency (miles, kilometers, gallons, litres)
- Lat/Lng Format: multiple options including DD, DMS, and UTM
- Timezone: set the time zone that will be displayed for the position reports
Assets tab Limit by selection: anything with a green check mark next to its name will be visible in the Shared View.
Groups tab Limit by selection: anything with a green check mark next to its name will be visible in the Shared View.
Geofences tab Limit by selection: anything with a green check mark next to its name will be visible in the Shared View.
Places tab Limit by selection: anything with a green check mark next to its name will be visible in the Shared View.
Drivers tab Limit by selection: anything with a green check mark next to its name will be visible in the Shared View.
- Default Map Mode: choose the interface (Live Mode or History Mode) that viewers will land on when they follow the link
- Default Map Type: set the visual appearance of the Map
- Default Timeframe of Available History: set the most recent X amount of time prior to the end of the date range that will display in the History view. Example: DHV of 2 days with a Date Range of Data that includes the month of July 2019 will show all positions on July 30th and 31st regardless of when a user accesses the shared view.
Display options are all check to enable boxes at the bottom of the Map Section. If a green check box is visible, the feature option is on.
- Group positions on map: if toggled on, when multiple reported positions are near each other, they will be grouped on the map view with a single icon and a number to show how many positions occurred in that area until the user zooms in close enough to separate them.
- Fade historic positions by time: if toggled on, more recent positions will appear more opaque, and less recent positions will appear more transparent.
- Remove roads from satellite map: if toggled on, when the user selects a satellite map template, it will not display roads and street name data.
- Play audio on emergency: if toggled on, whenever an emergency alert comes to the portal, it will play a sound.
Sharing the Shared View
Once created, all Shared Views can be edited, viewed, and interacted with from the Manage Module. This is where users will need to get the links to their Shared Views, and there are quick actions to push them to social networks as well. It is important to share a Shared View from the Manage Module or to at least copy and store the link to the Shared View outside of a messenger service so the link can be copied correctly. Once a Shared View has been opened in a browser or sent in a messenger service that renders weblinks, the URL will be obfuscated for security reasons.
- Open the Manage Module
- Click Shared Views
- Find the Shared View on the list
- Click the link button under the operations header to copy the link, then paste it wherever it is to be shared
- alternatively, click the 3-dot share button under the operations header to share directly to social networks or email
- If sharing directly to socials or email, complete the form on the following page
- clicking any of the social media buttons will open that site with the post pre-populated (unless you need to log in)
- via email: type the email addresses of recipients with commas to separate them, make any changes to subject and body, then click the send invite button at the bottom